Newsflash: Sometimes It’s Okay To Not Follow Your Dreams

“We were told we all deserved a trophy, and now we believe we all deserve our dreams.”

Thought Catalog

“Follow your dreams” has been popping up in my life with an irritating regularity as of late. Like an ex-boyfriend you never ran into when you were dating but is seemingly unavoidable post-breakup, this phrase is rearing its privileged head in every coffee shop and Facebook post I come across, likely because for the first time in my adult life, I chose to do the opposite: instead of following my dreams, I followed the money.

I worked hard, I climbed the ladder, and I made my parents proud…so why I did I feel so bad about it?

I’m part of the Gold Star Generation where everyone gets a ribbon. And when you grow up being rewarded equally for the things you put effort into and the things you didn’t, it warps your sense of what you’re entitled to. We were told we all deserved a trophy, and now we believe…

View original post 794 more words

Leave a Reply

